Tips

You can swipe right from anywhere of the screen to go back a page instead of hitting the back button on iOS.

Profile

1. Go to the profile editable page:
Hit the ‘person’ icon at the navigation bar or swipe left until you see the most right page which is showing some options. The first option is ‘View and edit profile’, hit it and you will see you profile information. Then hit the ‘pencil’ icon in the top right corner.

2. Swipe up the screen, you will find the editable boxes of your name, birthday and ‘about me’. Hit either of them to change.

1. Go to the profile editable page:
Hit the ‘person’ icon at the navigation bar or swipe left until you see the most right page which is showing some options. The first option is ‘View and edit profile’, hit it and you will see you profile information. Then hit the ‘pencil’ icon in the top right corner.

2. At profile editable page, you will see nine buttons, some of them are showing photos, some are ‘add’ buttons. Click any of ‘add’ buttons to add a photo, and follow the instructions to upload a new photo. Click any of the photo, you will find three icons at the bottom of the photo. The left one is to remove the photo. The middle one is to replace the photo by uploading a new one. The right ‘face’ icon is to set the photo as the default profile avatar.

The app does not have that feature so far.

Activities

Hit the ‘add’ icon in the right bottom corner of the screen. Select a type from four options 'Free Activity', ‘My Treat’, ‘Split Bills’ and ‘Feel Lucky’.

If you hit 'Free Activity', ‘My Treat’ or ‘Split Bills’, you will see a page to schedule a data and time for the activity, as well as set a budget range and set a note by scrolling the spinners. You can also edit the note by hitting anywhere on the note editable box. After that, hit ‘Next’ button in the top right corner of the screen, you will see a map to select a place where you want to meet up by simply tapping the map. The default place is a random place where is hundreds of meters away from you. You can also search a place by hitting the ‘search’ icon at the middle of the navigation bar.

Free Activity: Use this option when you want to create an activity, free for everybody.

My Treat: Show other users that you intend to cover all the expenses of the activity you are about to create.

Split Bills: Create an activity that shares the cost with other users.

Feel Lucky: FlavorChat will pair you up with an optimal existing activity. It may also notify other users that you are up for any activity. For the details please see the answer of the next question:

‘Feel Lucky’ tries to give you a best match based on your experience of the app.

After you clicking the ‘Feel Lucky’ button, if the system successfully finds a match, the app will show you the chatting page of a person and his/her activity details. If the system fails to give you a match in the case when there is no valid activity around you, you will be led to the activities list page. In both cases, if you do not have a valid activity in the system, the system may generate a new activity for you, which is tagged as the type of ‘Feel Lucky’.

Hit the ‘menu’ button in the right top corner of the activities list page (or the most right button of the navigation bar), you will find ‘Show my activities’ check box. Turn it on and go back. If you still do not see all of your activities, please refresh the list by either pulling down the list or hitting the refresh button in the left top corner.

When the system detects that any of your activities has expired, it will delete the activity from the server automatically. Please note that the activity may stay a little longer after expiration.

1. Try to change the activity settings:
Hit the most right button at the navigation bar to open the 'Activity Settings' page, please try to change the searching place by hitting ‘WorldWide’ and choose a place where you want to search on.

2. If it does not work, please share our app with your friends, classmates and colleagues, or try to refresh the UI by pulling down the screen or hitting the 'refresh' icon in the left top corner some time later.

Currently the system will search any activity of the location where is within around 220 miles (350 kilometers) away from you. The activities that are closer to you will have a higher priority. It means that you will have more chance to get the activities around you than the ones very far away from you.

Please note that here we use the location of the activity, or the place where the activity publisher wants to meet up. It is NOT the place where the publisher was sending the activity.

Privacy

When the app is showing you the distance of an activity to you or searching activities near you, it may use your accurate location.

When the app is calculating the rough distance between two people, it may use their accurate location, and the app will NEVER show your accurate distance to others. The minimum distance the app will show is one kilometer. Besides that, you can disable showing distance to others in the privacy settings of the app.

When you are choosing the location while you are creating an activity, the default location is a random place where is hundreds of meters away from you.

When you click ‘Feel Lucky’, the app may generate an activity for you when all of your activities have expired by using your rough location which is a random place where is hundreds of meters away from you.

By signing in the app with your Facebook account, the app will collect your last name, profile photo, gender and your age range. If you check the ‘birthday’ box when signing in Facebook, the app will use your birthday to calculate your age. You can uncheck that box when signing in and set your age manually in your profile editable page of the app later.

No. The app is unable to do that because it does not have that permission from your Facebook account, and it will NEVER attempt to do that.

Open ‘Preferences’ window, under the ‘Privacy’ section, you will see ‘Show coarse distance’ check box. Turn it off, and hit ‘Back’ button. Make sure you are in a good internet connection network when you are doing that, otherwise, you will get an error notification and the check box you have changed will revert to previous status.

Open ‘Preferences’ window, under the ‘Privacy’ section, you will see ‘Show last activity time’ check box. Turn it off, and hit ‘Back’ button. Make sure you are in a good internet connection network when you are doing that, otherwise, you will get an error notification and the check box you have changed will revert to previous status.